Proposal stories that will warm your heart before valentine’s day.

Colleen and Ross (married 8 years): Colleen and Ross had been dating for nearly two years and living together for a year, when they decided to get hitched. His proposal was sort of a non-proposal.

Colleen: “We were at dinner with his parents and he kept looking at me strangely all night. We got home and I asked what was up, and he said he was going to ask me to marry him but thought his parents would make too big a deal out of it.  I said, ‘Screw that, we should just go to Vegas’ and he asked if I would do that, thinking I wanted a big wedding. I said Hell YES! and we booked it then and there. We flew out exactly 2 weeks later and got married at the Little White Chapel on the Strip.”

Featured image

Cherise and Steven (married 5 1/2 years): Cherise and Steven went through a lot of rough spots in their relationship, but they stuck it out and made it work.

Cherise: “Steven and I probably broke up five times in our first 9 months of dating. He was always late, loved hanging out with his boys, just didn’t seem to have enough time for me. I told him that I didn’t think he was in it for the long haul, so it was best to end it for good. So when we broke up for the final time, I thought that was it.  Two days after we split up, I met up with about five or six of my girlfriends at a local bar for my friend Jessica’s birthday. We were kicking back, laughing and having a few drinks, while listening to some bad karaoke singers. When I heard, ‘Next up on the stage, Steven.’ I didn’t think twice about it since Steven is a popular name. But when I looked up, I saw MY Steven. He began to belt out, Bryan Adams’ Everything I do (I Do It For You) and I was in shock. At the end of the song, he said into the mic, ‘Cherise, I just wanted you to know that I AM in it for the long haul.’ And there, on the stage in front of everyone, he asked me to marry him. Apparently, he had been planning this with my friend Jessica for weeks. We got married a few months later and have been very happy for the last five years.”

more proposal stories…

Leave a Reply

